DemDaily: The Dwindling GOP Field

December 5, 2023

Just four candidates have qualified for Wednesday's fourth GOP presidential primary debate -- further winnowing the field as we count down to the Iowa caucuses -- just six weeks away.

To qualify for the fourth Republican presidential primary debate December 6, candidates must poll at least 6% in two national polls or 6% in one national poll and two early state poll; have a minimum of 80,000 unique donors, with 200 unique donors in at least 20 states or territories; and sign a pledge committing to support the eventual nominee.

The Field: Florida Governor Ron DeSantis, former South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley, tech entrepreneur Vivek Ramaswamy and former New Jersey Governor Chris Christie will face off at the University of Alabama in Tuscaloosa at 8:00pm ET.

Former President Donald Trump, who is leading the field and did not participate in the first three debates, will not be attending. Trump, who has refused to sign the RNC pledge of support for the eventual Republican nominee, will instead be attending a fundraiser in Florida for super PAC MAGA Inc.

That leaves former Arkansas Governor Asa Hutchinson, who only qualified for the first debate but remains in the race.

Out: North Dakota Governor Doug Burgum suspended his campaign Monday, bringing the dwindling GOP field down to six contenders.

In his announcement Burgum, who did not qualify for the third or fourth debate, bashed the party rules, saying "The RNC’s clubhouse debate requirements are nationalizing the primary process and taking the power of democracy away from the engaged, thoughtful citizens of Iowa and New Hampshire...the primary system is unhealthy for the future of the party, especially for a party that proclaims to value leadership from outside of Washington."

South Carolina Senator Tim Scott withdrew November 13, following former Vice President Mike Pence's exit from the race for the White House October 28.

The debate, which is sanctioned by the Republican National Committee (RNC), will be hosted by NewsNation and three conservative media outlets: The Washington Free Beacon, “The Megyn Kelly Show” on Sirius XM and the streaming platform Rumble.

The moderators will be former Fox News commentator and radio talk-show host Megyn Kelly, Free Beacon Editor-in-Chief Eliana Johnson, and NewsNation anchor Elizabeth Vargas.

DemList will keep you informed.

DemDaily: New Hampshire First? 11/17/23
DemDaily:The Race for Second Place. The Third GOP Debate 11/10/23
DemDaily: And Then There Were Eight 10/31/23
DemDaily: The Debate Download 9/29/23
DemDaily: Setting the State. The Second Republican Debate 9/26/23
DemDaily: Disqualified to Run? 9/12/23
DemDaily: Debate Download 8/25/23
DemDaily: Making the Debate Stage 8/22/23
DemDaily: 2nd Quarter Fundraising Positions Presidentials 7/17/23
DemDaily: The Endorsement Game 7/6/23

Connecting You to The Party
Connecting You to Each Other

Kimberly Scott

Please Support DemList

SignUp for the Daily updates on the issues, politics and the players.
Follow DemList on FacebookTwitter and LinkedIn

Sources: NBC, New York Times, Morning Consult, RNC

Related posts

DemDaily: The Pay Gap

DemDaily: The Pay Gap

April 4, 2019 80 cents. That is the amount working women get paid for every dollar paid to their male counterparts. $10,169. The loss in median earnings for a woman each year. Over the course of a...

DemDaily: Biden’s Bench

DemDaily: Biden’s Bench

February 16, 2023  This week marked the confirmation of President Joe Biden’s 100th judicial appointment, with seven more confirmed since Tuesday. As promised, Biden has set records for...

DemDaily: New York State of Mind

DemDaily: New York State of Mind

May 30, 2018 While most of you were vacationing last weekend, the New York Democratic Party held their State Convention on Long Island to officially annoint their party’s nominees for the...

DemDaily: The 2020 Pulitzer Prize Winners

DemDaily: The 2020 Pulitzer Prize Winners

May 19, 2020 The winners of the 2020 Pulitzer Prize were announced earlier this month, recognizing excellence in newspaper, magazine and online journalism, literature, and musical composition in...