DemDaily: Our New House Leadership

November 30, 2016

House Democrats elected their leadership this morning in a secret ballot election among the new Members of the up and coming 115th Congress.

Democratic Leader Nancy Pelosi withstood a 134-63 challenge from seven-term Ohio Congressman Tim Ryan, who argued the need for a new, younger vision for expanding the party's economic and political message.

(from left) Clyburn, Pelosi, Crowley, Sanchez, Hoyer, Yarmuth

Pelosi, who was first elected leader in 2002 after serving for two years as House Minority Whip, has seen the House of Representatives through 14 years, including two shifts in majority control and two Presidents.

House Dems also re-elected Maryland Congressman Steny Hoyer as Minority Whip, South Carolina Congressman Jim Clyburn as Assistant Minority Leader, and elevated Joe Crowley (NY) to Caucus Chair.

Hoyer and Clybern had held their respective positions since 2011.

The only contested election - Caucus Vice Chair - went to Linda Sanchez, who defeated fellow Californian and Congressional colleague Barbara Lee by a margin of only two votes, 98-96. The seven-term Sanchez, who has served as Chair of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus since 2015, becomes the first woman of color ever elected to House leadership*.

The 115th Congress, House Democratic Leadership

House Minority Leader
Represents Democrats on the House floor
Nancy Pelosi (CA-12)
House Minority Whip
Assists leadership in managing party's legislative program
Steny Hoyer (MD-5)
Assistant Minority Leader
Works with caucuses and as liaison to Appropriations Committee. Jim Clyburn (SC-6)
House Democratic Caucus Chair Heads organization of all Democratic Party members in the House. Joe Crowley (NY-14)
House Democratic Caucus Vice Chair Assists the Chair; 2nd in command of the House Democratic Caucus Linda Sanchez (CA-38)
Budget Ranking Member Top Democrat in the House Committee on the Budget John Yarmuth (KY-3)
The Members of the 114th Congress are in their final Lame Duck Session through December 17th - when they will adjourn for the final time.
The Members of the 115th will be seated January 3, 2016.
DemList will keep you posted.  Please pass this on!
Connecting you to The Party
Connecting you to Each Other
Kimberly Scott

Related posts

DemDaily: Guilty

DemDaily: Guilty

April 21, 2021 Yesterday’s verdict in the George Floyd murder trial was one of the most anticipated court decisions in recent history, marking a turning point in a chapter in US history that...